Enrollment: 480
Undergraduate: 0 percent
Highest degree: Doctoral, Professional
President: Valerie Montgomery Rice
Founded: 1973


Morehouse School of Medicine is a fully accredited institution established to recruit and train minority and other students as physicians, biomedical scientists and public health professionals committed to the health-care needs of the underserved. MSM was founded in 1975 as the School of Medicine at Morehouse College. In 1981, the school separated as an independently charted institution.

MSM has a number of nationally recognized research centers and institutes, including the National Center for Primary Care and the Center of Excellence on Health Disparities.

The institution confers doctor of medicine, master of public health, doctor of philosophy in biomedical sciences and master of science in clinical research. With more than 900 alumni practicing in 41 states, MSM admits approximately 52 M.D. students annually from more than 3,700 candidates who apply.